Skip to content

daily rhythms | part 2

May 6, 2010

Mike: As a pastor, you wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve heard people say, “I just don’t hear God saying anything to me.”

What I’ve found is that blending this individual and communal times of prayer and scripture creates a scriptural backdrop to listening to the voice of God.

Reading the written word connects me to the Living Word.

I liken it to this: The Shepherd speaks to us every day, it’s just that the sheep don’t always understand most of it; they aren’t familiar enough with the language.

Scripture then, becomes the phrasebook of heaven.

If we learn the phrasebook, we’ll understand more and more of what the Shepherd is saying to us.

There is this beautiful interplay between the written word and the Living Word.

What you then learn to do is once you put that aside as the key discipline in your life, you learn how God has created you and crafted you because God has hard-wired us to hear him through our specific personalities in different ways.

Aidan: Ok, I’ll bite. What are some different ways we can hear the Shepherd’s voice once scripture becomes our language guide to the Living Word?

Mike: I think in my experience there are three that seem to emerge.

1) Emotions/feelings

2) Imagination faculties

3) Reasoned/cognitive fashion

I’ve always had a visual and imaginative wiring. I’ve noticed over the years that the emotions/feelings one has become a second or tertiary one. But generally speaking, I seem to hear God’s voice most clearly through seeing things God wants me to see.

It’s so important that we find out the ways we connect and most easily communicate.

Aidan: How do you think someone would be able to tell what comes most naturally for them?

Mike: Sure, you can take the Myers Briggs and the will help some, but how do you pass your time? Daydreaming? Reading? Creating? Relationships? These will usually provide a window into which of these three is most accessible for you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 1:09 pm

    Keen insight! I really like the image of Scripture as the “phrasebook of heaven”. It really helps ground the images (my primary) and emotions (my secondary) by which God speaks to me. Thanks for that!

    David Bahn
    Cypress, Texas

Leave a Reply

